Redlands Home Page


Redlands Security: 405.422.6200

Four exceptional Redlands students were recently honored at the state Capitol

Sophomores Macie Gillock, Union City and Emilee Peterson, West Point Nebraska and freshmen Nicho Cabral, Hennessey and Gabriel DeGroot, Piedmont were honored at the Oklahoma State Capitol.

According to President Bryant, “We were very proud to have these students represent Redlands at the Capitol. Their hard work in the classroom and in the community has resulted in these students being selected for two great honors programs. ”

The sophomores were honored as recipients of the All-Oklahoma/ USA Academic Team and the freshmen received Oklahoma Association of Community College Scholarships Tuition Waiver Scholarships.

The two sophomores Gillock and Peterson were both recipients of the All-Oklahoma/USA Academic Team. The students were nominated by President Jack Bryant based upon the students’ academic achievement, leadership and service. Gillock is a Psychology major and will be transferring to the University of Central Oklahoma. Peterson is an agricultural communications major and is transferring to Texas A&M Commerce.

According to OACC, “The All-Oklahoma Academic Team Program provides statewide recognition to out-standing two-year college students. To be eligible, students must be nominated by their college president to the All-USA Academic Team. Nominees must be eligible to graduate during the 2014-2015 academic year and have a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.5. Medallions and certificates will be presented to all team members.”

Oklahoma is one of thirty-five states participating in the State Academic Team Program. The State Academic Teams were introduced in 1994 as a way to provide scholastic recognition to community college students, while promoting excellence at two-year colleges. The State Academic Teams are a division of the Academic All-American Team for Community, Technical and Junior College Students, an international program sponsored annually by Phi Theta Kappa, USA TODAY and the American Association of Community Colleges. The All-Oklahoma Academic Team is designed to provide the same kind of recognition to our state’s two-year college scholars by saluting their academic achievement, leadership and service.

The Redlands recipients of the OACC Tuition Waiver Scholarships were Cabral and DeGroot. The students were selected based upon their scholarship, leadership and service. Both students will be returning to Redlands in the fall to complete their associate degrees. To be eligible the students must have a minimum of a 3.5 GPA and attend an Oklahoma Community College full-time in the 2015-2016 academic year. OACC honored 23 outstanding freshmen representing 17 community college campus locations.

For more information contact Amanda Evert, Associate Vice President for Communications and Research, 405.422.1445 or